One Pie for Grandma and One Pie for Everyone Else ~ Plus Gooseberry Pie Recipe

Carlton WILLIAMS Sr and Ruby Irene PORTER WILLIAMS with their two oldest children.

Carlton WILLIAMS Sr and Ruby Irene PORTER WILLIAMS with their two oldest children. My mom, Carol, is the little girl on the left.

My mom, Carol Elizabeth WILLIAMS LAKEY, always had to make two Gooseberry Pies every year for my Grandma’s birthday. One completely for her and one for everyone else to share.

Grandma, Ruby Irene WILLIAMS PORTER, would share pretty much everything else she ever had, but NOT a single bite of HER Gooseberry Pie.

The year that my mom passed away (suddenly and just four days before my grandma’s birthday) she made two Gooseberry Pies and gave them to Grandma early. At the time, there was not a reason really given other than something like “just because”.

Grandma and I had several talks throughout the years following Mom’s death and we were both convinced (for several reasons that included this one) that she somehow knew that she was going to pass away very soon and had to get a few things done early.  They are both gone now, but this memory is still very much alive and I have my hands on my mom’s recipe which I am sharing with you today. Enjoy!

Fresh Gooseberry Pie

Makes one pie. If you need one for someone like my grandma and another for everyone else… you will need to double this.   😉

3 cups fresh gooseberries (if you use canned, rinse and drain)
1 1/2 cups sugar
3 Tablespoons quick-cooking tapioca
1/4 teaspoon salt
pastry for 9-inch 2-crust pie
2 Tablespoons butter

  1. Stem, wash, and drain gooseberries.
  2. Crush 1/2 cup of the berries and combine with sugar, tapioca, and salt. Then add the rest of the berries.
  3. Cook and stir until the mixture thickens.
  4. Line a 9-inch pie pan with pastry and fill. Dot with butter. Add the top crust.
  5. Bake at 450 degrees for 10 minutes.
  6. Reduce oven temperature to 350 degrees and bake about 30 minutes longer or until the crust is done. Serve slightly warm.
About nvlynnae

I am a 49 year old mom of a 28 yr old daughter and a 16 yr old son. I'm happily married and I homeschool our youngest who has been diagnosed as having Asperger's and I have Parkinsonism, BPPV, and AGHD. My family means everything to me! I am a northern Nevadan Christian homeschooling stay-at-home-mom who also blogs and loves some of the social media communities. I'm a self-proclaimed advocate for Asperger's Syndrome, all of the Autism Spectrum Disorders, and special needs in general. I am usually found blogging, tweeting, and posting about homeschooling, genealogy, Parkinsonism, being Gluten-Free, books, recipes, and anything else on our family's Christian Journey...
This entry was posted in PORTER ~ BOWLES ~ MEREDITH ~ SMITH, Recipe, WILLIAMS ~ FRARY ~ WURTZ and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One Pie for Grandma and One Pie for Everyone Else ~ Plus Gooseberry Pie Recipe

  1. Pingback: My Grandma Ruby Irene PORTER WILLIAMS | Digging For Ancestors

Leave a Reply

