Cortes and Sarah SMITH’s Marriage License ~ Wedding Wednesday

Cortes Eugene SMITH, my second great-grandfather, was born about 1863 in Missouri to John A. SMITH (born about 1820) and Irene (born about 1826). Cortes died on August 8, 1914 in Missouri.

Sarah Elizabeth Jasmine CARTER MEREDITH, my second great-grandmother, was born about 1864 in Arkansas. She died on March 10, 1940 in Missouri. We have been told all along by my grandma (one of her grand-daughters) and others that this was her full name. There was no doubt. We cannot discover the names of her parents to confirm much, but I recently found this marriage certificate that simply lists her name as Sarah E. CARTER. I am not ready to drop the additional names yet. It is also possible that her name was shortened after she left the reservation or something.

Cortes and Sarah were married on October 11, 1883 in Richmond, Ray County, Missouri.

Cortes and Sarah Smith Marriage Certificate

State of Missouri, County of Ray

Marriage between Cortes E. Smith of the County of Ray and State of Missouri who is under the age of twenty-one years, and Sarah E. Carter of the County of Ray and the State of Missouri who is over the age of eighteen years.

Witness my hand as Recorder, with the seal of office hereto affixed at my office in Richmond, the 11th day of October 1883.  John Milstand?  Recorder

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This is to certify, that the undersigned a Justice of the Peace did, at Richmond, MO in said County, on the 11th day of October AD, 1883 unite in Marriage the above named persons.  J.D. Mastino?  J.P.

Filed for Record this 11 day of October 1883.  John Milstand?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Cortes and Sarah SMITH were the parents of six children including Mary Irene Saphronia Jasmine SMITH (July 4, 1890 – June 25, 1947), who was the mother of Ruby Irene PORTER WILLIAMS (March 24, 1928 – May 13, 2010), who was the mother of my mom Carol Elizabeth WILLIAMS LAKEY (March 4, 1947 – March 20, 1987).

About nvlynnae

I am a 53 year old mom of two (now 20 and 33). I'm happily married and I homeschooled our youngest the whole way through. Our youngest has been diagnosed as having Asperger's and I have an Atypical form of Parkinsonism, BPPV, Pseudo Cushings, Fibromyalgia, AGHD, and more. My family means everything to me! I am a northern Nevadan Christian working from home mom who also blogs and loves some of the social media communities. I also started as a doTerra Wellness Advocate on my 50th birthday. I'm a self-proclaimed advocate for Asperger's Syndrome, all of the Autism Spectrum Disorders, and special needs in general. I am usually found blogging, pinning, tweeting, and posting about homeschooling, genealogy, Parkinsonism, being Gluten-Free, books, recipes, and anything else on our family's Christian Journey...
This entry was posted in PORTER ~ BOWLES ~ MEREDITH ~ SMITH and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.