Irvin Henry SCHROEDER and Elsie Rose HERZ

Irvin and Elsie SCHROEDER’s grave at Skyline Memorial Park cemetery in Monee, Will County, Illinois.

Irvin and Elsie SCHROEDER were the parents of the man that I consider my “official” father at the time of my birth. I believed that he was my biological father from the time I accidentally discovered information when I was 11 or 12 until I was told that he probably was not my biological father in 1987 (by their son over the phone after I found him when I was a freshman in college). My grandma later told me that she did not think that they even knew each other soon enough. I believe that there is still a good chance that he MAY be my biological father since I look a lot like him and nobody knows the “other guy”. Either way, I would really like to meet a cousin or two from this family. This family was part of my very early life.

Anyway, I did a lot of genealogical research on this family and find it rather interesting. I will post more as time goes on. This side was a lot easier even though I never met any of them, because the families lived in the same locations for years and have more unique names that are not nearly as common.

Irvin Henry was born on September 18 or 19, 1911, in Grant Park, Kankakee County, Illinois, to Henry Martin SCHROEDER (July 7, 1877 – February 11, 1951) and Minnie Christina KOENNING (July 1, 1885 – October 20, 1942). Irvin died on December 17, 1971, in Kankakee County, Illinois.

Elsie Rose HERZ was born on July 27, 1924, in Peotone, Will County, Illinois to John Henry HERZ (April 17, 1885 – June 10, 1972) and Marie STOLZENBACH (September 20, 1888 – February 3. 1957). Elsie died on June 28, 1983 in Clinton, South Carolina.

Irvin and Elsie were married on May 3, 1942. They had Donald Irvin SCHROEDER on May 7, 1944 in Grant Park, Kankakee County, Illinois. They also had one daughter and two more sons, I believe. This is because of a card I found to me from them when I was a baby.

Elsie remarried on September 1, 1984, in Parker, Texas to Minyerd W. Ownby when he was 67 and she was 61. As far as I can tell, Elsie wasn’t buried with her second husband. It’s possible that I just haven’t found it. According to the grave stone, she was buried with her first husband. but I am not sure.

Donald and my mom, Carol Elizabeth WILLIAMS, were married on January 6, 1968, in Kansas City, Missouri. I was born just over a month later on February 8, 1968, in Independence, Missouri. Donald was on my original birth certificate as my father. He was stationed in Maslow Heights, Maryland by March 29, 1968, where I found that my mom and I joined him. I am not sure when he got stationed there.

I’ve found Irvin Henry SCHROEDER in the 1920, 1930, and 1940 Censuses living with his parents. He married Elsie when he was about 30 years old.

Here is the SCHROEDER family in the 1940 Census.

Name: Henry M Schroeder
Respondent: Yes
Age: 62
Estimated Birth Year: abt 1878
Gender: Male
Race: White
Birthplace: Illinois
Marital Status: Married
Relation to Head of House: Head
Map of Home in 1940: Sumner, Kankakee, Illinois
Farm: Yes
Inferred Residence in 1935: Sumner, Kankakee, Illinois
Residence in 1935: Same House
Father’s Birthplace: Germany
Mother’s Birthplace: Germany
Occupation: Farmer
House Owned or Rented: Owned
Value of Home or Monthly Rental if Rented: 20
Attended School or College: No
Highest Grade Completed: Elementary school, 8th grade
Hours Worked Week Prior to Census: 60
Weeks Worked in 1939: 52
Income Other Source: No
Native Language: German
Social Security Number: No
Usual Occupation: Farmer
Usual Industry: Farm
Usual Class of Worker: Unpaid family worker

Household Members
Name  ~  Age
Henry M Schroeder     62
Minnie Schroeder     54
Irvin Schroeder     27
Martin Schroeder      23
Irelon Siepker     31  ~  Female white housekeeper. She only had an education of 6th grade, was single, and worked 60 hours a week. Her income says 260.

There was also a brother, Alfred, who was about 4 years older than Irvin, but no longer lived in the household.

Irvin’s details on the 1940 Census are:
Irvin Schroeder
Age: 27
Estimated birth year: abt 1913
Gender: Male
Race: White
Birthplace: Illinois
Marital Status: Single
Relation to Head of House: Son
Home in 1940: Sumner, Kankakee, Illinois
Inferred Residence in 1935: Same House
Occupation: Farmer
Attended School or College: No
Highest Grade Completed: Elementary school, 8th grade
Hours Worked Week Prior to Census: 60
Weeks Worked in 1939: 52
Income Other Sources: No

Here is the 1930 Census with Elsie’s family:

Name: John Herz (Elsie’s dad)
Age in 1930: 45
Birth Year: abt 1885
Gender: Male
Race: White
Birthplace: Indiana
Marital Status: Married
Relation to Head of House: Head
Home in 1930: Washington, Will, Illinois
Street Address: Pauls Road
Dwelling Number: 172
Family Number: 178
Home Owned or Rented: Rented
Radio Set: No
Lives on Farm: Yes
Age at First Marriage: 30
Attended School: No
Able to Read and Write: Yes
Father’s Birthplace: Germany
Mother’s Birthplace: Germany
Able to Speak English: Yes
Occupation: Farmer
Industry: General farm
Class of Worker: Working on own account
Employment: Yes

Household Members:
John Herz  45
Marie Herz  42
Emil Herz  13
August Herz  12
Elenora Herz  8
Elsie Herz 5

In the 1940 Census, there was also another son, Clarence Herz who would have been born about 1931, but Elsie wasn’t listed in that one (she would have been about 15 years old).

About nvlynnae

I am a 49 year old mom of a 28 yr old daughter and a 16 yr old son. I'm happily married and I homeschool our youngest who has been diagnosed as having Asperger's and I have Parkinsonism, BPPV, and AGHD. My family means everything to me! I am a northern Nevadan Christian homeschooling stay-at-home-mom who also blogs and loves some of the social media communities. I'm a self-proclaimed advocate for Asperger's Syndrome, all of the Autism Spectrum Disorders, and special needs in general. I am usually found blogging, tweeting, and posting about homeschooling, genealogy, Parkinsonism, being Gluten-Free, books, recipes, and anything else on our family's Christian Journey...
This entry was posted in SCHROEDER ~ KOENNING ~ HERZ ~ STOLZENBACH and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

